Databases

 

For the user names and passwords for all of the resources listed below, refer to the Library page on Edline or the Athenian Library Online handout in the Library.

 

Athenian Library Catalog

Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC) that lists the Library's book and media titles and also includes web links (Webpath Express) that are selected and reviewed by experts. These web links are embedded in book or media subject headings.

 

General Research

 

Proquest

Proquest is an academic-oriented online database containing thousands of full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

 

Encyclopedia Britannica

This web site provides on online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica and a world atlas, dictionary and thesaurus.

 

EBSCO

Includes full-text journals, primary source documents, History, Literary and Science reference centers, Religion & Philosophy Collection and more.

 

GALE

An extensive cross-curricular array of resource centers including Literature, History, Science, and Opposing Viewpoints and more.

 

Questia

A highly interactive database including over 65,000 full text electronic books as well as magazines, newspapers and scholarly journals in all subject areas.

 

Current Events

 

New York Times Online

Click on the "log-in" button near the top of the page to access current and archived issues back to 1851.

 

Wall Street Journal Online

Near the top of this web page you will find an "online subscribers log-in" button, click it to access current and archived issues.

 

History, Humanities and Social Science

 

JSTOR

This college-level database includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

 

Science

 

Scientific American Digital

This site offers subscribers a digital archive of every issue of the Scientific American dating back to 1993.

 

Science Magazine

A digital archive of the world's leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary

 

MAKE

A digital archive of the first magazine devoted to digital projects, hardware hacks, and Do-it-Yourself inspiration

 

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

This online version of the latest CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is the authoritative series on chemical and physical data of virtually all the common data needs of physical scientists and engineers.